It is currently Fri Sep 22, 2017 7:41 am

New owner - Need advise on trailer set up.

Electronics, projects, motors, drives, props, drill some holes, etc.
  • Author

MarkD

• nospam: no

New owner - Need advise on trailer set up.

PostMon Aug 29, 2016 9:33 am

Hello all! Just last Thursday I purchased a 2015 leftover Ventura 197 with a Yamaha 150. I got out in the boat with the family this past weekend and couldn't be happier with the boat/engine combination. I grew up with 2 stroke engines and thought I'd be disappointed with a 4 stroke but the Yamaha 150 gets the 197 on plane nicely even with my family and my brother's family on board.

While I am fairly experienced with boating I'm new to trailering and the dealer set me up with an aluminum beam Load Rite bunk trailer. The problem is he set it so the boat sits on top of those two inner strakes and when putting the boat on the trailer the boat will either catch the edge of one or the other so it end up tilted. On one strake and off the other. The photo I attached shows the boat barely on one and well seated on the other. Thing is this is fork lift placement from the dealer and as I wrote above there is no way to float it on in this orientation. My brother and I tried for a half hour on Saturday. The other people at the ramp were not happy.

Going back to the dealer is not an option. He's 3.5 hours away and it's a horrible drive through NY. I'm going to have to make these adjustments.

My idea is to move the bunks out so that the boat sits about a half inch on either side of the bunks. This way the strakes will automatically guide the boat into the correct orientation. I am also planning to use washers to angle the bunks so they meet the hull firmly. The bunks do reach all the way to the transom so I'm good there. Tongue weight feels just a little heavy so while I'm adjusting the bunks I'm going to move the axle forward a few inches.